New Members Elected to Iowa Campus Compact Board of Directors

July 6, 2017

For immediate release: Four new members of the Iowa Campus Compact Board of Directors were elected in May and begin their three year terms of service this week. Two of the members represent a commitment from the organization’s leadership to add different voices to the board representing community and partner organizations.

President Angela Walker Franklin from Des Moines University and President Steven Titus from Iowa Wesleyan University are the two new president members of the board. A new partner member of the board is Lindsay Moser, University Relations and Recruiting Manager at Principal. Also joining the board is Dr. Stacy Van Gorp, a consultant with experience in higher education and nonprofit and philanthropic settings, who will serve as chair of the “Giving Voice to the Civic Mission” Committee. Moser and Van Gorp have already been instrumental to Iowa Campus Compact’s success through their roles in our committee work and launching the Principal Community Scholars Program.

“We look forward to the unique perspectives and ideas each of these new board members will bring to our growing organization,” said Executive Director Emily Shields.

The organization also recognized departing board members for their service, including Mercy College of Health Sciences President Barbara Decker, who served as board chair, Morningside College President John Reynders, and Drake University Dean of Students Jerry Parker.

In addition to new board positions, new members were also elected to board committees:

  • Wesley Brooks, Vice President for Student Development and Dean of Students, Iowa Wesleyan University
  • Susan Sanning, Assistant Dean and Director of Service and Social Innovation, Grinnell College
  • Seth Andersen, Director, Culver Public Policy Center, Simpson College
  • Brianne Fitzgerald, Communications and Engagement Officer, Volunteer Iowa
  • Keira Wilson, Assistant Director of Service and Social Innovation, Grinnell College

Read more about each board member below.

Angela L. Walker Franklin, who became Des Moines University’s 15th president in the spring of 2011, has worked in higher education for more than 25 years. Previously, she was executive vice president and provost at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee, where she oversaw academic and administrative departments. Read more.



Steven E. Titus is the 29th president of Iowa Wesleyan University, a position he has held since 2013. A seasoned higher education executive, he previously served as the 13th president of Midland University and has held executive roles at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota, Pacific Lutheran University, and Gustavus Adolphus College. Read more.


Lindsay Moser has worked in Recruiting and Diversity at The Principal Financial Group for more than 11 years. She started working on the Campus Recruiting team and then moved to a role focused on recruiting for the Retirement and Investor Services division. Read more.


Stacy Van Gorp has been the executive director of the McElroy Trust in Waterloo, Iowa for more than 10 years. She also co-founded, which provides cutting-edge resources and training to savvy consultants and organizational leaders and has held several other positions in higher education and nonprofits. Read more.


Iowa Campus Compact is a statewide association of college and university presidents providing leadership for the civic mission of higher education by strengthening the capacity of public, private, and two-year institution members to prepare all students to become engaged citizens.