Iowa Campus Compact Recognizes Civic Leadership in Higher Education, Community and Business

April 19, 2019

For immediate release (Des Moines, IA): Iowa Campus Compact (IACC) today announced the winners of the 2019 Engaged Campus Awards. This year’s awards include a new category for Civic-Minded Employer, recognizing the role of businesses in preparing students for civic and professional success. Additionally, faculty, staff, students, alumni, and community partners will be recognized for leadership in civic and community engagement at the Awards and Summit Event on April 29th at the Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden.

The inaugural Civic-Minded Employer award winner is Vermeer Corporation in Pella. Vermeer was nominated by Central College for its work creating learning opportunities that combine education and real-life experiences, including a teacher internship program that allows teachers to experience how STEM directly relates to its workforce. This award aligns with the event’s keynote speaker Mandi McReynolds, Director of Community Relations and the Foundation at Principal. McReynolds will talk about the business case for community engagement in higher education and careers.

“This year’s awards are another great opportunity to showcase the many facets of higher education and community partnerships,” said Executive Director Emily Shields. “Our work prepares students for lives as successful civic-minded professionals and improves communities.”

In addition to Vermeer, the organization will recognize 12 other individuals, projects, and partnerships as winners and finalists, including:

Civic Mission Leadership: a faculty or staff member who has demonstrated leadership for higher education civic engagement and has worked to give voice to the civic mission of higher education.

  • Winner: Brie Swenson-Arnold, Associate Professor of History, Coe College
  • Finalist: Julianne Gassman, Director of Community Engagement, University of Northern Iowa

Community Leadership: an alum of a member institution making strong contributions to their community and demonstrating the values of the civic mission of higher education.

  • Winner: Renee Murphy, Alumna, Simpson College
  • Finalist: Ken-Matt Martin, Alumnus, Drake University

Emerging Leadership: a new person in the field who is making unique and innovative contributions that demonstrate strong future potential.

  • Winner: Jessica Klyn de Novelo, Director of Career and Professional Development, Central College
  • Finalist: Megan Jeanette Myers, Assistant Professor of Spanish and Affiliate Faculty U.S. Latino/a Studies, Iowa State University

Student Leadership: a student leader with demonstrated accomplishments in engaging students in meaningful service and civic engagement.

  • Winner: Amanda Miley, Buena Vista University
  • Finalist: Madeline Cheek, Drake University

Emerging Innovation: a recent project, program, or initiative making unique and innovative contributions that demonstrate strong future potential.

  • Winner: #PanthersVote, University of Northern Iowa
  • Finalist: Education for Service Scholars, Buena Vista University

Community Partnership: a campus-community partnership or collaboration that is deep, reciprocal, and transformational.

  • Winner: EMBARC and the University of Northern Iowa
  • Finalist: Aging Services and Coe College

National Service Member of the Year: an individual AmeriCorps member (in IACC programs) who has made significant contributions to building community partner and/or campus capacity.

  • Winner: Jade Riley, AmeriCorps VISTA Member, Willis Dady Homeless Services

Learn more about each awardee.

Iowa Campus Compact (IACC) is a statewide association of college and university presidents providing leadership for the civic mission of higher education and strengthening the capacity of our member colleges and universities to prepare all students to become engaged citizens.