Campus Compact Selects Students as Principal Community Scholars

October 26, 2018

Eleven college students from Iowa and Minnesota have been selected for the 2019 class of the Principal Community Scholars Program. The recipients were selected after being nominated by faculty or staff from their college or university.

The program is designed to encourage student leadership to meet community needs. Selected students will receive a $1,000 scholarship from Principal upon completion of a service project. This is the third year of the program, which has engaged nearly 50 students across the Midwest and in California.

“This year’s class of scholars are committed to their communities and to using business skills to improve the lives of others,” said Iowa and Minnesota Campus Compact Executive Director Emily Shields. “We are thrilled to get to know them and help them further prepare for careers and lives of purpose.”

Selected scholars will visit Principal and attend the Civic Action Academy November 9th and 10th at Drake University. Their projects are designed to engage their peers and their institutions in ways that support economic sustainability. 

This year’s Principal Community Scholars:

Zaynab Abdi, ’20 – St. Catherine University, Minnesota

Natalie Davis, ’20 – Drake University, Iowa

Kennedy Elliot, ’19 – University of Northern Iowa

Caleb Gipple, ’21 – University of Northern Iowa

Divine Islam, ’19 – St. Catherine University, Minnesota

Hannah Matt, ’20 – Simpson College, Iowa

Madison Morehouse, ’20 – University of St. Thomas, Minnesota

Tessa Renze, ’21 – Morningside College, Iowa

Andrew Sandoz, ’20 – Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota

Kenneth Wexler, ’21 – Buena Vista University, Iowa

Carley Wright, ’19 – Simpson College, Iowa

The students will have the opportunity to continue working with each other, Campus Compact staff, and their on-campus adviser throughout the semester as they complete their projects.

Learn more about each scholar’s project.

Campus Compact is a national coalition of over 1,000 colleges and universities committed to the public purposes of higher education. We are a network comprising a national office and 34 state and regional affiliates.

As the only national higher education association dedicated solely to campus-based civic engagement, Campus Compact enables campuses to develop students’ citizenship skills and forge effective community partnerships. Our resources support faculty and staff as they pursue community-based teaching and scholarship in the service of positive change.