Campus Compact and Principal Announce Class of Community Scholars

November 7, 2017

For immediate release, November 7, 2017:

Twenty-five college students from Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin have been selected for the 2018 class of the Principal Community Scholars Program. The recipients were selected after being nominated by faculty or staff from their college or university and a rigorous review process.

The program is designed to encourage student leadership to meet community needs. Selected students will receive a $1,000 scholarship from Principal upon completion of a service project. This is the second year of the program, which last year supported twenty students in Iowa and California

“This year we focused on students in the Midwest and got a strong pool of nominations,” said Iowa Campus Compact Executive Director Emily Shields. “These students have a deep commitment to bringing business solutions to meet community issues.”

This year’s scholars proposed projects designed to engage their peers and their institutions. These projects tap into a variety of skills that can be offered by college students and will impact causes ranging from education to neighborhood vitality through research, fundraising, communications, and other means.

This year’s Principal Community Scholars:
Sumayo Saed – Augsburg University, Minnesota
Jacob Jensen – Buena Vista University, Iowa
Tirzah Gaul – Coe College, Iowa
Briana Gipson – Coe College, Iowa
Constance Schlittler – Coe College, Iowa
Jazlin Coley – Drake University, Iowa
Maddy Stokes – Drake University, Iowa
Yesenia Ayala – Grinnell College, Iowa
Kayla Estes – Grinnell College, Iowa
Emily Hammer –  Iowa State University
Alyssa Nehring – Morningside College, Iowa
Sarah Sadler – Morningside College, Iowa
Emily Gurilinger –  Mount Mary University, Wisconsin
Kapono Asuncion – St. Catherine University, Minnesota
Dharma Lemoine Tennat – St. Catherine University, Minnesota
Erin Nelsen – St. Catherine University, Minnesota
Taylor Rudie – St. Norbert College, Wisconsin
Madison Behney – Simpson College, Iowa
Baillee Furst – Simpson College, Iowa
Kelby Kies – Simpson College, Iowa
Sharla Boyer – South Central College, Minnesota
Marisa Winters – Southwest Minnesota State University
Rachel Mortvedt – University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Ogochukwu Akamelu – University of Wisconsin-Madison
Linda Deeth – Western Technical College, Wisconsin

Selected students will come together virtually on Friday, November 10th for a retreat designed to introduce key concepts related to community engagement and service. They will connect with each other and learn about the work being done by Principal and Campus Compact.

The students will have the opportunity to continue working with each other, Campus Compact staff, and their on-campus adviser throughout the semester as they complete their projects.

Campus Compact is a national coalition of over 1,000 colleges and universities committed to the public purposes of higher education. We are a network comprising a national office and 34 state and regional affiliates.

As the only national higher education association dedicated solely to campus-based civic engagement, Campus Compact enables campuses to develop students’ citizenship skills and forge effective community partnerships. Our resources support faculty and staff as they pursue community-based teaching and scholarship in the service of positive change.