Call for Nominations: 2017 Engaged Campus Awards

January 2, 2017

Iowa Campus Compact member faculty, staff, students, groups, projects, and partners eligible for statewide awards.

In the last three years, the Engaged Campus Awards have recognized nearly 100 faculty, staff, students, groups, and partnerships across the state. This has included a faculty member teaching servant leadership, a student organization supporting Special Olympics, and a community member building interfaith alliances (read more about last year’s winners). The fourth annual Engaged Campus Awards will build on the success of past awards with a few changes to encourage an even broader range of honorees, streamline the nomination process, and garner more recognition for the community engagement work happening across the state.

Starting today, anyone affiliated with one of our member campuses (as staff, faculty, student, or partner) can make nominations in the following categories.

Individuals can be nominated for:

  • Civic Mission Leadership
  • Student Leadership
  • Community Leadership
  • Emerging Leadership
  • National Service Member of the Year

Groups and/or projects can be nominated for:

  • Community Partnership
  • Emerging Innovation
  • Network Choice Award

The Network Choice Award category is specifically for student organizations or student-led projects. In late April, we will post a selected group of those nominations for our network to select a winner via online voting. Individual AmeriCorps and VISTA members (in IACC programs) who have made significant contributions to building a community partner or campus department’s capacity can be nominated for the National Service Member of the Year award.

With a range of award opportunities we hope to encourage a diverse group of nominees from across the state. Nominations can be made by submitting a brief narrative about the nominee and their work and submitting a picture. We are no longer requiring letters of support.

Nominations are due April 7, 2017 and awards will be presented at an Awards and Summit event on May 3. More information on the award categories and nomination process can be found here.