Carnegie Classification

The Carnegie Community Engagement Classification is an elective classification that recognizes institutions committed to community engagement. It serves as the highest level of distinction available to community-engaged campuses. We support our member campuses in achieving and maintaining the classification as a form of recognition and a way of focusing strategy.

The next deadline for classification and re-classification (for those classified in 2010) is in 2020 and the application will open in January 2018.

Several Iowa Campus Compact members have received this classification. See below for the full list.
  • Central College
  • Drake University
  • Iowa State University
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Northern Iowa
  • Wartburg College
  • Buena Vista University

First-Time Classification For the 2020 classification, campuses that have not previously received the classification will need to submit an application using what is referred to as the “first-time documentation framework.” A PDF version of the Documentation Framework to be used for planning purposes only is available here.

Re-Classification For the 2020 classification, institutions that received the classification in 2010 and are seeking to retain the classification will be able to re-apply through an reclassification process. A PDF version of the application for reclassification to be used for planning purposes only is available here. Institutions that received the classification in 2015 will not need to do anything in 2020.   2015 classified campuses will retain the classification until 2025.

2020 Classification Timeline

January 2018 – Announcement of the 2020 process

May 1- July 1, 2018 – Request for applications (payment of fee and release of application)

April 15, 2019 – Applications due/Reviewing begins

December 2019 – Review process completed/campuses notified

January 2020 – Classification results announced