Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Colorado Civic Health Network – The Amazing Tale of How a Report Turned into Action for Civic Learning and Engagement

November 14 @ 2:00 pm - 3:15 pm

Time: This one hour and 15 minute webinar will be held at 12 pm Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central and 3 pm Eastern time.

Description: In 2014, a group of nonprofit organizations, higher education institutions, government agencies, and private businesses came together to publish the inaugural Colorado Civic Health Index. While powerful in the information it contained, the Index was a report like any other, at risk of being shelved and collecting dust. Instead, what developed over the subsequent three years was a collective impact initiative to strengthen the civic health, civic learning, and civic engagement of Colorado (and now Wyoming).

This webinar will explore a specific workgroup of the Civic Health Network, namely the P-20 Collaborative for Civic Learning and Engagement. Through this group developed the Democracy XXXIII Initiative, including specific programming for K-12 teacher professional development, higher education civic health and equity, and P-20 civic learning and engagement. Learn more about what makes this collective impact initiative work and how civic health and equity has served as a powerful organizing framework for the individual organizations participating in the effort.

Facilitators: Stephanie Schooley, Executive Director, CCMW; Bill Fulton, Executive Director, Civic Canopy; Paul Baumann, Director, National Center for Civic Learning and Engagement, Education Commission of the States; Kirsten Vermulen, Program Director, Denver Metro Chamber Leadership Foundation

Venue

Zoom web conference

Organizers

California Campus Compact
Campus Compact of the Mountain West
  • Get updates on what's new with Iowa Campus Compact